Poster OLIVER! - November 1976

Oliver! is a British musical with music and lyrics by Lionel Bart. It first appeared in the West End in 1960 and enjoyed a long run which launched the careers of several child actors including Davy Jones.

The musical is based upon Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens and was the first adaptation for stage of a Dickens novel

The original London production of Oliver! opened in the New Theatre in June 1960. Among the original cast were Ron Moody as Fagin, Georgia Brown as Nancy, and Barry Humphries in a small role as a humourous undertaker.

In 1968 the musical was made into a film using some big names who had never appeared in the stage show. It stars Ron Moody, Oliver Reed, Harry Secombe, Mark Lester, Jack Wild, and Hugh Griffith.

Oliver Harvey Hillyer, Mark Lindridge
Mr Bumble Guy Smither
Widow Corney Joyce Upton
Mr Sowerberry Ron Dowling
Mrs Sowerberry Dot Waters
Charlotte Marie Willcocks
Noah Claypole Christopher Grist
Artful Dodger Antony Williams, Mark Haddigan
Fagin Bob Cartwright
Charley Bates Tim Aspeling
Nancy Joan Rowe
Bet Wendy Freeth
Mr Brownlow Geoff Gingell
Bill Sykes Tony Peyton-Bruhl
Mrs Bedwin Midge Wallace
Rose Seller Valerie Lindridge
Milk Maid Jean Norris
Strawberry Seller Myra Jones
Knife Grinders Christopher Grist, David Salt
Long-Song Seller Ed O'Keefe
Dr Grimwig John Freeth
Old Sally Muriel Alford
Ladies of the Chorus Muriel Alford, Josie Beckwith, Sharon Courtney, Pam Elton, Shirley Holland, June Jones, Myra Jones, Valerie Lindridge, Jean Norris, Eve Redman, Barbara Smith, Valerie Smith, Sandra Tucker, Eileen Walker, Queenie Walker, Marie Willcocks
Dancers Sonia Atkinson, Jean Brown, Daphne Barnes, Brenda Crowder, Carole Gennings, Christine Jones, Ann McCarter, Fiona Moss, Karen Pratt, Janet Ross, Linda Smither, Pat Ternouth
Gentlemen of the Chorus Alan Benson, Bill Coulstock, Bernard Carter, Ron Dowling, John Goldring, Christopher Grist, Cliff Jones, Frank Jennings, Frank March, Ed O'Keefe, Dave Rogers, David Salt, Brian Sweatman, Tony Willcocks, Colin Watts
Producer & Choreographer Audrey Pring
Musical Director Brian Eastop
Official Accompanist Des Stone and John Evans
Stage Manager Bob Gutherson
Assistant Stage Managers Peter Efemey and Maurice Jones
Lighting Michael Page, Bill Goodchild
Sound Peter Martin
Stage Crew Malcolm Bernhardt, Eddie Gwilym, Bob Hellier, Duncan McClellan, Alan Prosser, Doug Copeland
Wardrobe Mistress Joyce Slaughter
Wardrobe Assistants Betty Hoar, Pauline Joiner, Ann Prichard, Julia Hall, Ann Peyton-Bruhl
Properties Audrey Blow, Jill Walton, Pat Wallace, Gwen Peopall, Edna McRae
Ticket Control Eric Tompkinson, June Evans
Click to enlarge Click to enlarge Click to enlarge Click to enlarge Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge Click to enlarge Click to enlarge Click to enlarge Click to enlarge